Representing the interests of all public use airports in Iowa
IPAA Mast

Legislative Updates 2018

Iowa Public Airports Association
April 13, 2018

Infrastructure Bill Being Assembled!
House and Senate negotiators are continuing their behind the scenes work on the FY 19 Infrastructure Appropriations bill.

Our requests for the spending bill are:

1. For the upcoming 2019 fiscal year appropriate at least $1.5 million to the Commercial Airport Vertical Infrastructure Program and at least $750,000 to the General Aviation Airport Vertical Infrastructure Program;

2. Commit to a long term airport vertical infrastructure program that invests $16.5 million a year for at least 10 consecutive years;

Here are the members of the committee:
Rep. Dan Huseman - dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov
Rep, Skyler Wheeler - skyler.wheeler@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Gary Carlson - gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. David Kerr - david.kerr@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Mary Mascher - mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Dave Maxwell - dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Amy Nielsen - amy.nielsen@legis.iowa.gov
Rep. Ras Smith - ras.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Sen. Craig Johnson - craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov
Sen. Tim Kapucian - tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov
Sen. Matt McCoy - matt.mccoy@legis.iowa.gov
Sen. Tod Bowman - tod.bowman@legis.iowa.gov
Sen. Roby Smith - roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov

Bills of interest: SF 2395 (formerly SSB 3198) - Air Freight Forwarder Taxes (M) - This bill makes changes to the apportionment of income of an airline and of a qualified air freight forwarder for purposes of the Iowa corporate income tax.
On Senate debate calendar

SF 2271 - Taxi Regulation (M) - The bill prohibits a taxicab service from transporting passengers by motor vehicle for hire from any place in this state to another place in this state, irrespective of the route or highway traversed, without first having obtained a taxicab service passenger certificate from the DOT. However, the bill provides that a taxicab service passenger certificate issued by the DOT does not authorize a taxicab service to transport passengers within the boundaries of a local authority that licenses or regulates such vehicles pursuant to Code section 321.236(7) unless the taxicab service is in compliance with all applicable regulations of the local authority. A “taxicab service” is a person engaged in the for-hire transportation of passengers in a taxicab having a seating capacity of less than seven passengers and not operating on a regular route or between specified points.
Passed the Senate 47-2. Approved by the House 96-0. Awaiting Governor’s action

HF 2473 (formerly HF 2069) - Aircraft Parts Tax Exemption (F) - Current law exempts from the Iowa sales and use tax the sale, rental, or use of aircraft component parts permanently attached to an aircraft, including repair or replacement materials or parts, and repair, remodeling, and maintenance services used on an aircraft, aircraft engine, or aircraft component materials or parts, provided the aircraft is used in either a scheduled or non-scheduled interstate federal aviation administration (FAA) certified air carrier operation (scheduled or non-scheduled FAA operation). This bill removes the requirement that the aircraft be used in a scheduled or non-scheduled FAA operation to qualify for the exemption. The sale, rental, or use of the component parts and services described above will be exempt from the sales and use tax when permanently attached to or performed on any aircraft. The bill defines “aircraft” to mean the same as it does for purposes of Code chapter 328 (aeronautics), which includes any contrivance now known, or hereafter invented, used or designed for navigation of or flight in the air, for the purpose of transporting persons or property, or both.
On House debate calendar

HF 2336 - Demonstration Aircraft Certificates (F) - The bill limits the period a manufacturer or dealer may operate an aircraft under a special certificate to three years. The bill increases the annual fee for a special certificate from $100 to $400, and provides that a special certificate expires at midnight on October 31 rather than midnight on June 30.
Approved by Ways and Means subcommittee

© 2015 Iowa Public Airports Associaion